Cat Woman

I don’t like cats as much as this woman.
I certainly don’t like cats as much as the lady in the cape.This woman loves cats and the lady in the cape!
A lot of cool women like cats.
The truth is, I don’t really like cats.
Or so I thought.

Most of my life was spent living in a paddock.
We had a dog and at various other times chickens, sheep, a pony, guinea pigs, rabbits, foxes, hares, a cockatoo, a magpie, geese, koalas, kangaroos, wombats and blue-tongue lizards chillaxing in our paddock with us.

The adult portion of my life has mostly been spent living in apartments.
I think we had a mouse problem once.

I’ve missed the menagerie. And I sure didn’t think a cat could fill that hole.
Then I met Fat Cat.

Fat Cat lives in my apartment block and Fat Cat is fat. So fat that it takes him a couple of minutes of staring at his cat flap before he can work up the motivation to squeeze himself through. He has fleas. He’s scared of cars and so runs away/runs in front of the car, as you drive into the car park. When Fat Cat turns in for the night, I’m often woken by his effort getting through the cat flap.

But he is also very friendly. He meows a greeting and runs over for a pat.
When I’m studying outside he sits with me, sleeping in the sun, until I finish.
He sits at our glass back door, leaving little nose prints until I come out for a chin tickle.

Within the first week of us moving into our apartment block, another couple was moving out. The woman searched the grounds for Fat Cat and then scooped him up, cooing into his eyes, telling him how much she’d miss him.
I remember smirking at this display.
But now I’m afraid, that when the time comes, I’ll be doing the same.

Fat Cat makes a lot of people in my apartment block happy.
Fat Cat has helped me meet my neighbours.
Fat Cat is my company when I’m home alone.
With Fat Cat I get all the benefits of a pet, but without having to worry about his flea and weight issues.

So that’s a priceless activity I’d recommend; adopt a cat! I’ve collected another cat at work called Gollum. Give me 60 years, and I’ll be looking like this woman.

About freedom finder

I like books, plants and second-hand goodness. I like things that are free. I really like it when those two likes combine. I'm a Christian and want to take Jesus up on his offer of abundant life. I want to spend more time without money and spend more thoughts on freedom.
This entry was posted in Frugal Funtimes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cat Woman

  1. jtul.tul says:

    whoo hoo! love it! i love cats. And fat cat even though I only saw him one time when he ran away from my car.

  2. Claire Mullett says:

    I am ready to rant about girls dressing like prostitutes all over your blog! Good work so far Megalomaniac!

  3. I love Fat Cat.
    I love that time he tried to frame Pete by taking a nap under the bumper bar, nestled up against the front wheel.

Leave a Reply

