Dear Fatty

Do you remember the first time you got to the end of the Harry Potter series?
Or that time you finished all 10 seasons of FRIENDS in only approximately 7 hours and 23 minutes? Do you remember that strange mix of nostalgia and grieving you get when you realise there are no more moments to share with the characters you’ve really, truly become quite good friends with, actually.
I had that feeling finishing Dear Fatty.

Dear Fatty is Dawn French’s own brand of memoir. It is structured as a series of letters, addressed to people who have been significant in her life.
Naturally, the first letter is addressed to me.  You can download it here.

I borrowed the audiobook during the pledge because I was craving The Vicar of Dibley.
It was sensational!
I laughed.
A lot.
I also cried at times.
But mostly I listened and listened and listened, incorporating it into as much of my life as I could.

French is a fantastic writer, with her conversational style probably at its best being listened to. Essence of French Fantastic emanates from every sentence.
While much of the book is thoroughly fun, French’s controlled writing also allows her to speak honestly on topics on which platitudes are expected. With the articulation of a seasoned comedienne, she writes with equal candor on curtsying, sneaking, snogging, remembering, body image, death and love.

I felt so sad and nostalgic after finishing listening to Dear Fatty that I got my hands on a copy of the printed version to help the mourning process.
Joy of Joys!
The recording was abridged! I still had a book full of pockets of new Dawn French memories to enjoy! So I read it cover to cover.

About freedom finder

I like books, plants and second-hand goodness. I like things that are free. I really like it when those two likes combine. I'm a Christian and want to take Jesus up on his offer of abundant life. I want to spend more time without money and spend more thoughts on freedom.
This entry was posted in Frugal Funtimes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

