Subtlety

Subtlety.
It is like elocution and good posture; the makings of elegance.
And something I’m yet to attain.

A friend suggested we set ourselves the challenge of remaking some lamps, with the help of this blogger.

My previous attempts at restoring furniture have been about loud patterns.

Clash and colour.
This time I was aiming for elegance.

The project did not help my elocution. Especially not when I started dismantling the original lamp shade and years of Grandma’s ciggie smoke came crusting all over me. Eughhh.

It did nothing for my posture. But to be fair, I did nothing for its either. Other than drop it. So now it stands a little wonky.

But subtlety. It helped me appreciate subtlety. Understated and delicately complex.
And also helped me happily appreciate that I’m really not either of those things.

About freedom finder

I like books, plants and second-hand goodness. I like things that are free. I really like it when those two likes combine. I'm a Christian and want to take Jesus up on his offer of abundant life. I want to spend more time without money and spend more thoughts on freedom.
This entry was posted in Frugal Funtimes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Subtlety

  1. Emma Boyd says:

    Love it! So excited…you actually FINISH the projects that I only get to start 😛

  2. Thanks Emma! So glad you are around to inspire with your many crafty ideas!

Leave a Reply

